EU Australia Online - News & information from the capital of Europe direct to Australian businesses

New Executive For Strengthened EU

  • January 10th, 2010
  • Posted by EUEditor

barroso-strasbourg-19-june-073.jpgThe European Commission President, Jose Manuel Barroso has celebrated the new executive, named at the end of 2009, saying: “We have a European program, and now we have a European team”.

The Commission scheduled to be approved by the European Partliament on 26.1.10 has been formed as part of the wider EU reorganisation that flows on from the ratification of the Lisbon Treaty – the revised “European constitution” (see EUAustralia …).

A statement from Mr Barroso said that on advice from member governments, he had announced new portfolios: Climate Action; Home Affairs; Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship and had reconfigured others: Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth; Health and Consumer Policy; Industry and Entrepreneurship; Research and Innovation; International Cooperation, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response.

There would be a new emphasis on inclusion in the Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion portfolio, and a renewed focus with the Digital Agenda portfolio.

He said the new Commission would have seven Vice-Presidents, including Vice-President Baroness Catherine Ashton who is also the High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, following the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty in December.

Nominated Commissioners:
•    Joaquín ALMUNIA: Competition. Vice-President of the Commission.
•    László ANDOR: Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion.
•    Baroness Catherine ASHTON: High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security and Vice-President of the Commission.
•    Michel BARNIER: Internal Market and Services.
•    Dacian CIOLOS: Agriculture and Rural Development.
•    John DALLI: Health and Consumer Policy.
•    Maria DAMANAKI: Maritime Affairs and Fisheries.
•    Karel DE GUCHT: Trade.
•    Štefan FÜLE: Enlargement and European Neighbourhood Policy. *
•    Johannes HAHN: Regional Policy.

•    Connie HEDEGAARRD: Climate Action.
•    Maire GEOGHEGAN-QUINN: Research and Innovation.
•    Rumiana JELEVA: International Cooperation, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response. *
•    Siim KALLAS: Transport. Vice-President of the Commission.
•    Neelie KROES: Digital Agenda. Vice-President of the Commission.
•    Janusz LEWANDOWSKI: Budget and Financial Programming.
•    Cecilia MALMSTRÖM: Home Affairs.
•    Günter OETTINGER: Energy.
•    Andris PIEBALGS: Development.*
•    Janez POTOČNIK: Environment.
•    Viviane REDING: Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship. Vice-President of the Commission.
•    Olli REHN: Economic and Monetary Affairs.
•    Maroš ŠEFČOVIČ: Vice-President of the Commission for Inter-Institutional Relations and Administration.
•    Algirdas ŠEMETA: Taxation and Customs Union, Audit and Anti-Fraud.
•    Antonio TAJANI: Industry and Entrepreneurship. Vice-President of the Commission.
•    Androulla VASSILIOU: Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth.

* In close cooperation with the High Representative/Vice-President in accordance with the treaties.

The Vice Presidents are, in order of precedence: Catherine Ashton, Viviane Reding, Joaquín Almunia, Siim Kallas, Neelie Kroes, Antonio Tajani, Maroš Šefčovič.


Delegation of the European Union to Australia (Home), “President Barroso unveils his new team”, Canberra, 30.11.09.… (10.1.10).


Jose Manuel Barroso